Reviews

Add A Review

Rated 5/5 based on 1 customer reviews
"I can’t say enough about Empower Physical Therapy & Fitness! I am so grateful to be treated & cared for by this amazing Team to address my multiple work related injuries. Raj and Reenu and the entire staff treated me with the utmost engagement to see me reach my fullest recovering. They have gone the extra mile so many times for me. In one instance, after having a total knee replacement and getting therapy, I needed a manipulation Procedure by my Knee Dr., which calls for physical therapy every day after for 5 days straight. Empower Made accommodations for me to come in, on a day normally they would not be open, enabling me to get the intense, rigorous daily therapy I needed! You can’t go wrong with any aspect of your physical therapy needs, they have it all, including so much state of the art equipment & machines to work with your needs."
Mar 03, 2020
From Google
"About 3 years ago, damaged left shoulder/rotater. Opted OUT of surgury & continued w/ Empower Therapy. Took about 8 or 10 visits, experienced 75% reduction in pain & almost 100% in normal arm/shoulder function. Continued w/excercises at home for another 3 weeks,.... cured. Currently on 5th visit for right shoulder. Pain reduced to about level 3 (of 10). Off of naproxin, range of motion 80%, countinuing specific excercises at home. Expect no pain / 100% range of motion in about 3 to 4 more visits. These are wonderfully skilled therapists who take YOUR CARE SERIOUSLY ! I'm impressed by their incredible knowledge of human physiology. Highly recommended !"
Feb 26, 2020
From Google
"Raj and the entire staff were very welcoming and friendly. This was my first time ever in PT and didn't know what to expect but they came highly recommended by my primary doctor and they didn't disappoint. I would recommend them to anyone."
Feb 24, 2020
From Google
"After a week of coming here my pain reduced a lot. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable."
Feb 14, 2020
From Google
"I bring my mother to physical therapy at Empower and cannot say enough good things about it. From the front desk, physical therapists to the owner, everybody is so kind, truly concerned and highly skilled at what they do. They listen to your concerns and without hesitation will incorporate a solution into treatment!!! HIGHLY recommend them!"
Feb 12, 2020
From Google
"I was directed to go to Empower for a rotator cuff injury I had been dealing with for almost a full 12 months. Being new to the area and having had a previously bad experience with a doctor, I did not fully trust my doctor's diagnosis that physical therapy would fix my issue. I walked in to Empower an incredibly skeptical client and left 100% pleased with my experience from the first visit. (1) I had no idea what to expect regarding insurance. The office staff was incredibly knowledgeable. They looked up my information, explained my deductible, walked me through their different payment options, and explained their payment procedure for each visit which made paying for every following session stress-free as it was always an open conversation. (2) The Physical Therapists were information focused and made sure I understood the in's and out's of my injury before doing anything. For the first day, this meant that they checked my range of motion, put me through some hands on rotation testing, and even let me watch some videos that helped further explain the injury and give me better insight as to what was going on with my shoulder. (3) From then on Empower was accommodating with scheduling, steadily progressed me through my exercises while challenging me, and the therapists even made sure to explain the reasoning behind every movement/stretch/strengthening technique. As I became more comfortable with the exercises they even suggested needling (basically acupuncture). Normally I would have immediately refused, but at that point I couldn't help but trust the therapists and I gave it a try. The needling did wonders for my back muscles and helped relax a lot of the muscles that were a source of strain on my shoulder. I attended physical therapy sessions at Empower three times a week for three and a half weeks and was successfully discharged before the end of my first month (know that I am in my late twenties and seem to heal relatively quickly). Having played football in undergrad, I had resigned myself to a future filled with shoulder pain, but Empower and the therapists there helped reverse my outlook in the best way possible. Not only am I am leaving happy and healthy, but I am also walking away with suggested workouts and shoulder stretches/exercises to make sure the injury doesn't happen again. I spent the better part of four years in a University's varsity sports physical therapy program. I can honestly say that the attention and service I received at Empower was the same if not better. A special thanks to Nick and Paulina. They are amazing and this place truly heals people."
Jan 30, 2020
From Google
"Raj was recommended to me by my primary Dr to try and help relieve my lower back pain. Wasn’t interested in medication! Raj showed me exercises that he believed would help with my discomfort. He explained that exercises would be painful at first but would help eventually. Raj really cares! Has texted me multiple times after my PT concluded, always offering advice or motivation. I’ve been pain free close to 6 months. Excellent bedside manner!! Thanks Raj Highly recommended!"
Jan 28, 2020
From Google
"Raj and Reenu have been wonderful to work with. They had me pain free from a lower back disc issue in under 2 weeks. Everyone at Empower was friendly and compassionate!! Thank you for your help and caring, it was greatly appreciated!!"
Jan 06, 2020
From Google
"Dr.Raj AND Staff WAS VERY FIENDLY ,MY HUSBAND HAD HIS FIRST SESSION TODAY AND YOU COULDN'T ASK FOR A BETTER ATMOSPHERE, THE FACILITY IS CLEAN THE STAFF ARE JUST REALLY FRIENDLY, GREET YOU WITH A WELCOMING SMILE, TRY THIS FACILITY YOU WILL REALLY LOVE IT AND ENJOY YOUR THERAPY,"
Dec 13, 2019
From Google
"great staff"
Dec 02, 2019
From Google
"Raj has been fantastic in helping to relieve my back pain. Absolutely unparalleled in accommodating my schedule. Very attentive and interested in my progress through my entire rehabilitation process. And beyond all that, very personable, professional, and a pleasure to be around."
Nov 22, 2019
From Google
"I've been to several physical therapists over the years for a back injury and this is far and away the best treatment I have received. Raj is incredible, not just in his abilities, but his commitment to working within your schedule and providing customized treatment to meet your needs. He even follows up between appointments to check in on how you're doing. He just really cares and it shows. Highly recommend."
Nov 19, 2019
From Google
"Raj and his staff are remarkable. They are truly concerned with you and getting you back to normal. They take a personal interest in you. Raj is absolutely fantastic. He WILL help you! His knowledge is like no other. The facilities are full of equipment you wont see at most other places. They are clean, and you will look forward to going to your sessions."
Nov 08, 2019
From Google
"Friendly staff, knowledgable therapist, clean facility, and modern equipment. The combination of various treatments is a fantastic appeoach. No miracle cures here, and it is not a day spa. You are a participant in your own healing. Stick with it, do the work, and follow the recommended programs. You will see results. Dr. Raj is excellent!"
Nov 05, 2019
From Google
"I first injured my back in November 2018 and went to another physical therapist for 4 weeks without any significant change. After suffering with the pain until Labor Day weekend 2019, I returned to my doctor, who recommended I try Empower Physical Therepy for my back and my left shoulder, before considering an MRI. After just two visits with Raj my back pain was virtually gone. Between my back pain and shoulder, Raj did a wonderful job getting me back to nearly normal. I highly recommend Empower to anyone needing physical therapy!"
Oct 25, 2019
From Google
"I am so thankful that I came across Empower Physical Therapy in my search for a Physical Therapist for my 17 year old son. My experience has been wonderful from the moment I called to inquire. The staff are friendly and professional. In our first visit Dr. Raj made sure we left with very clear instructions on exercises for home. He gave us handouts and sent an email with a link to app for our phones. I really credit Dr. Raj with being instrumental in my son's healing. In addition, Dr. Raj has gone above and beyond to make appointment times that work for my family. I am so grateful. When my son attends physical therapy Dr Raj is very friendly and engages my son in conversations about more than just his therapy. I observe and hear Dr Raj treating his other patients in this wonderful manner as well. I couldn't be more happy with the holistic care that takes place at Empower Physical Therapy!"
Oct 17, 2019
From Google
"I am so happy that I found an exceptional physical therapist! I have had back surgery before, but was never able to find a good physical therapist. All of the places I went to (and there were quite a few) consisted of an assistant running between 2 or 3 patients at the same time, not really watching to make sure my form was correct and then waiting in line to use equipment. I recently had an SI fusion and found Raj Thangam on the internet. He is the owner of Empower Physical Therapy and Fitness. He has over 25 years of experience. What interested me most from his website was that he integrates Yoga and Pilates into his therapy. Before I had back problems, I was a Pilates addict. He has been in business since 2008 and has two offices on Clinton Township and a new office in Bloomfield Hills on Long Lake and Woodward. All of his offices have incredibly advanced equipment. There is a gravity reducing treadmill, which can take off up to 80% of your body weight and I was able to walk on it and not damage the joint that was just fused. He uses “redcord” straps and bungie cords which strengthened my weak leg and hip muscles with less pain. These are things I have never seen at the other places I had been to before. The best part is that all of the treatments are one on one. Raj massaged my scar tissue and all the places that were tight and knotted due to the surgery. He carefully explains the exercises and makes sure you are doing them correctly. He knows everything about the body and explained to me in laymen’s terms what was going on with my hips, back and legs due to the surgery. I am confident that when I go back to work, I will be in better condition physically than I was prior to the surgery. I even plan on continuing to have sessions at Empower to manage my chronic back pain. I really think he is going to change my life for the better!! Suzanne Alessandri"
Sep 21, 2019
From Google
"As an athlete I was very worried about my injury making me unable to enjoy my sports. Raj offered me well targeted treatments, exercises and advice that allowed me to continue and enjoy sports. I felt very welcome and they were always extremely accommodating of my schedule."
Sep 01, 2019
From Google
"My first visit with Raj was great. I was in pain from a sciatic nerve issue. By the time I left after my first visit, the pain was virtually gone. My next few visits have been focused on working to gain strength to avoid any future problems. Raj is personable, kind, and makes you feel very comfortable when you are working with him."
Aug 28, 2019
From Google
Aug 24, 2019
From Google
"Chronic Achilles Tendinitis. A successful, personalize treatment plan was created for me by a very gifted physical therapist (Reenu Chacko). After unsuccessful therapy elsewhere, my Orthopedic surgeon recommended I find a therapy center that included Dry Needling as a treatment option. My Empower treatment plan was specific to the issues and walking habits I developed from chronic Achilles tendinitis in both legs and a past Achilles surgery. My treatment included dry needling, carefully monitored exercises, massage of the muscles and tendons, and reorienting me to proper walking technique to maintain healthy tendons via the AlterG treadmill. I really appreciate the exceptional professional care I received from the Empower staff at both the Hall Rd and Utica Rd therapy centers."
Aug 13, 2019
From Google
Aug 11, 2019
From Google
"In the past 20 years, I’ve been treated by a physical therapist four times for various injuries. Raj and Empower are now the team I will return to if I’m ever in need again! When I first visited for knee pain, I was no longer sleeping well and the pain had moved to my ankle and hip as I was compensating for the knee issues. Raj explained everything thoroughly and treated me with kindness and respect. After three weeks of PT and home exercises, I sleep pain free, am now walking 4 miles a day and feel so much better about my health! Before trying any other facility, give Empower a call! UPDATE: I screwed up my hip on a trip and returned to Raj for help. This time we did Dry Needling! Totally sold - left pain free. Can see myself;f coming back again and again for another needling"
Aug 08, 2019
From Google
"I've tried everything. I was still getting shots every couple weeks for months. Now I'm feeling great. Raj and his staff are a life saver and my quality of life has never been better!"
Aug 06, 2019
From Google
"I highly recommend this place. The staff and the doctors are really helpful and knowledgeable. The clinic has all the modern equipments and machines. I noticed quick results with the exercises suggested and therapy. Doctor Raj is very thorough with his diagnosis and suggests the right exercises."
Jul 11, 2019
From Google
"Raj is awesome! He provided immediate relief for an acute problem I was having and sent me home with exercises to help me get back to normal. He stayed in touch with me between visits and would send more suggestions of how to tackle new flare ups without waiting for me to come in for an appointment. Raj was very accommodating with my schedule and after 6 appointments, I was finished! Raj is also very personable and easy to talk to!"
Jul 11, 2019
From Google
"I loved this place after having back surgery. The staff super friendly and helpful. I loved going into the water first helped loosen the tightness of the muscles and joints, so I could move around. Rameesh was amazing pushing and very motivational every step! He wanted to see you better."
Jul 11, 2019
From Google
"This place is phenomenal! Before I went there I could barely walk/move because of the pain in my mid back. I had to stand up so straight for me to move around with ease. But after only two visits with Raj, my back was brand new. The pain was receding and I could do more things like walk and sit again without the pain flaring up. I would highly encourage anyone who needs physical therapy to come see Raj as he is the best in town."
Jun 12, 2019
From Google
Jun 07, 2019
From Google
"I can't say enough good things about Raj and his team at empower physical therapy. I have visited every location, due to me being centrally located. They are extremely professional, convenient, and flexible. I did not meet one person at any location who did not treat me like I was family. If your looking to recover, and recover fast, look no further. I had a labrum tear in February and recovered mostly within three months. You definitely have to put in work though, PT is not some magical fix. Empower gives you the tools to succeed. Thanks to them I am back and training again. Thanks for everything guys!"
Jun 03, 2019
From Google
"I have recovered from two rotator cuff surgeries and was sent to numerous rehab facilities, only to find that my shoulder still wasn't as functional as I would like it. I could barely put my jacket on, put away dishes, and have intermittent pain throughout the night. I am giving this review for Raj of Empower Physical Therapy and Fitness, in Bloomfield Hills. When I walked into his Fitness Center I saw some different and unusual equipment. There were red cords suspended from the machines and a gravity adjustable treadmill. It was like a whole new world for me. Raj, has a new and wonderful way of renewing the body. I and so grateful for his talented approach to healing. Today, I am on an exciting and positive existence. My arm is healing allowing me full range of motion and more strength and mobility. I cannot rave enough about Raj and his wonderful staff. Thank you, Carol Hunter"
May 22, 2019
From Google
"Amazing place and amazing results. Raj helped me fix my neck/shoulder pain that I had been struggling with for years. I went and saw two PT's before and had no luck. This was a completely different experience. Raj listened to me every appointment and focused on doing whatever it took to fix the pain. I would go here again in a heart beat if I ever needed more PT. I highly recommend to anyone who is looking to feel better again!"
May 21, 2019
From Google
"Great staff! Great management! Very caring, helpful, state of the art healing! After being hit by a drunk driver, they helped my recovery. Since then, I’ve taken my wife for her chronic pain conditions and my teen age son for back and neck pain. I recommend these great people to all my loved ones and friends!"
May 07, 2019
From Google
"I went to see Raj after I broke my tibia and fibula and was non weight bearing for 6 weeks. Raj had me off my crutches after 2 weeks of therapy! His team is very attentive and always interested in your individual progress. The anti gravity treadmill is such a unique piece of equipment that really helps with walking after being non weight bearing. Thanks for all your help Raj!"
Apr 16, 2019
From Google
"Raj & his team are THE BEST PT/OT office around. If you need PT/OT, you NEED Empower Physical Therapy!!! ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐"
Apr 02, 2019
From Google
"Empower physical therapy is the best!!! I had surgery on my foot and had a lot of pain and difficulty walking. The staff helped me through the exercises and after 6 weeks I am pain free, back to work and walking with no difficulties. Everyone that works at Empower is so helpful and knowledgeable. I would recommend Empower to anyone who needs physical therapy!"
Mar 29, 2019
From Google
"This places is great, I was referred by my doctor for neck pain, tension headaches and migraine. The place is very clean, they dessinfect all the equipment after been used. They are very empathetic to people and always work with me asked about pain level and work with me according my pain. They set an exercise plan for my neck and back. After three weeks my pain has improved quite a bit. The staff is awesome everybody is very professional and personalble."
Feb 22, 2019
From Google
"My husband James recently went to Empower Physical Therapy. He had wonderful results and this is clearly a first class facility with knowledgeable and caring staff. He needed to have physical therapy because of a lower back issue. They were able to get him much better after the first visit. To maintain good health, on subsequent visits he was taught beneficial stretching techniques. The pain and stiffness was greatly reduced through their use of dry needling, e-stim and water bed therapies. I highly recommend them if you ned physical therapy. Thank you Raj and your wonderful staff!"
Jan 09, 2019
From Google
"Raj & his team work diligently to get you well. I've known Raj for 20+ years, and his dedication and knowledge grows more with each passing year. The team at Empower are compassionate, knowledgeable and career-oriented (physical/occupational therapy). When working with you they observe body mechanics, posture, and they cheer you on to meet your goals! I recommend Raj & Empower to everyone/anyone! If you want to heal, and heal correctly, there's only one place to go, EMPOWER! 😊"
Jan 09, 2019
From Google
Dec 27, 2018
From Google
Nov 19, 2018
From Google
"Staff at Empower are great! P.T. Sam is the best! She's tough but super motivating, positive and full of energy! O.T. Lisa is very calm and knowledgeable and fun to talk to. Highly recommend this physical therapy establishment!"
Oct 10, 2018
From Google
Sep 28, 2018
From Google
"Awesome place awesome people working there! My mom could not strait her arm. Now she’s so happy and no pain or bent arm!"
Jun 21, 2018
From Google
"A great place to go for rehab wonderful people great atmosphere"
Jun 01, 2018
From Google
"They treat you like family, A great place to go for any type of physical therapy you need."
Mar 01, 2018
From Google
Jan 31, 2018
From Google
Aug 13, 2017
From Google
"I had an MCL strain. Raj and his team did an amazing job getting me back to running. They taught me some excellent strength exercises for my knee as well as my core. Overall I would highly recommend going here if you are in need of physical therapy. "
May 24, 2017
From Google
"I first started at Empower Physical Therapy due to an injury regarding my lower back. At my initial appointment I could hardly walk and I was in a significant amount of pain. The friendly and helpful staff have greatly impacted my improvement. I'm extremely grateful for their help and support. The therapists and assistants have worked with me diligently to provide the best care for my needs. I was referred to Empower by my Mother and sister. I would definitely recommend them to anyone I know!"
Jan 13, 2017
From Google
"I cannot say enough about the treatment I have received at Empower Physical Therapy. After over a year of intense shoulder pain and very limited range of motion, it took less than a week to be comfortable enough to sleep through the night and wake up almost completely pain free. In the weeks since, my condition has continued to improve almost daily. The staff is exceptional, friendly and truly care about your welfare. I recommend Empower to anyone looking for caring and innovative physical therapy."
Dec 27, 2016
From Google
"A friendly, welcoming atmosphere with professionals who care about you and your well being. I wouldn't dream of going anywhere else for my physical therapy or fitness needs, and with the volume of miles I run, I need a ton of both! Thank you Team Empower!"
Jan 05, 2016
From Google
""Thank you" to all the staff at EMPOWER. They all made me feel like I was a part of their EMPOWER family. During my therapy sessions, the staff members gave me motivation and determination to work hard and get well. They are true professionals! I would recommend EMPOWER to anyone."
Nov 15, 2015
From Google
"I have went from not being able to use my right arm to being able to use my right arm! At night I sleep all over the place and when I would lay on this arm I would instantly wake up! After 1 week of physical therapy at Empower I can sleep all over this arm now! Thanks to Empower and their wonderful team of physical therapist I am now able to have full use of this arm that I once said "was for mere decoration."(lol) Thanks guys!!!!"
Jul 08, 2015
From Google
Jun 12, 2015
From Google
"The staff at Empower has been amazing! They are extremely friendly & accommodating. Their cutting edge equipment and knowledgeable staff excelled my recovery process. I highly recommend!!!! "
Dec 29, 2014
From Google
"The staff at Empower is the most professional group of Pt and fitness experts in Michigan! When I first arrived at Empower I had underwent a massive hip surgery that put me out of athletics for close to 1 year. I went from not being able to walk, to performing at a Elite athletic level. The team at empower took me through the full pt protocol all the way into an advanced fitness training regimen. I would recommend Empower Physical Therapy and Fitness to anyone that desires care that is far beyond average. "
Feb 13, 2014
From Google
©2018 Google LLC All rights reserved. Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google LLC.

I’m so grateful to Empower for helping me overcome my back pain and for teaching me how to live pain free. They understood my personal needs, instead of lumping me into a group and hoping the treatment would work. My plan was specific to me and my issues. Today, a simple thing like sneezing or coughing is pain free! Not too long ago I would have been brought to my knees with pain. Thanks Empower. I will recommend you to everyone I know.

Alice S.

I had a special case with having a ruptured quadricep tendon repair as well a septic knee and had a special surgery and need special needs to rehab my quad so I could bend and us my leg right again as a flatbed semi truck driver. Here at Empower they have worked great with the surgeon and his guidelines and have me back to work in a short month and a half strengthening my muscles and bending my knee. The staff here is extremely friendly and great they listen to your needs and help you anyway they can. And i will come back again and again when I need rehab for a injury and would also recommend them to anyone.

Robert S.

These people CARE about their patients. They are encouraging, and I felt a difference in my plantar fasciitis within my second week of treatment. I like their equipment a lot better than the last place I went to. Highly recommended to anybody!

Stephanie P.

Newsletter Signup